Staying motivated

Most my life I’ve lived in a group setting:  at home when I was a child, the People Garden commune in my 20s, with my wife and children, my son and I after the divorce, and a year with Christy, Jeremy, and Jesse.   It has only been in the last few years that I have lived alone.
I don’t know if it is because of that or because, as researchers have found, people are happier when they are with other people than when they are alone.  Some studies suggest that people who live alone may die 7 to 17 years sooner. Regardless of the reasons it is part of my nature to enjoy working on projects with other people.  I’m more motivated when adventures are shared.  It  is more fun.  Plus, someone shares the work and the adventure and comes up with additional ideas.
Sharing the adventure is one reason that I blog here and on my other sites.
My immediate problem isn’t being happy or staying alive, it  is staying motivated.

What am I going to do to stay motivated? I have a few ideas:

Being accountable by sharing my plan both online and offline with people and publishing my progress.
Reminding myself to do at least one thing towards changing my life each day….and doing at least that one thing however large or small it may be.
Meditation. I find it helps keep me focused on the present if I meditate each day.
Living in the present moment keeps the past from bogging me down and helps mitigate the confusion and hesitation caused by my perception that the task is virtually insurmountable.

There is a lesson for me in doing this.  One I fully intend to learn.  I just don’t know what it is yet.

If you enjoyed this, you might also like:

Fall Sale at TheBlendedPath
Progress Report 11.14.12

See what else I’m doing.
My photography blog: jr cline photography
Follow me on twitter: jr_cline
My instagram profile

